tracking app
tracking app

Coronavirus: More than 100 people should self-isolate using the tracking app

tracking app
tracking app

Nicola Sturgeon said the new contact tracing app in Scotland has recommended over 100 people to self-isolate.

Protect Scotland became available on September 10th as a free smartphone download from the Apple App Store or Google Play.

Since then, more than a million people have downloaded the app.It shows people if they have been in close contact with someone who subsequently tested positive for Covid-19.

During the Prime Minister’s questions, Sturgeon urged those who had not already done so to download the app.

She told Holyrood, “A million is already enough for us to know the app can make a difference and I can warn that over 100 people have been asked to self-isolate because of its use.”

The Scottish Government has announced that more than 300 people who tested positive for Covid-19 and who have the app have now received a test code that they can use to notify other users of the app of their test result.

Previously, contact tracing has been done manually using a method that has been in use for years to control the spread of infectious diseases.

Last week, some iPhone users reported that they couldn’t download the app because they weren’t using iOS 13.

IPhone 6 and earlier models released before 2015 cannot run the latest Apple operating system.According to the Protect.scot website, Android phone users must have at least the Android 6.0 operating system released in 2015.

An Ofcom survey in 2017 found that around 3.2 million adults in Scotland owned a smartphone.

 

How does the app work?

The new app uses Bluetooth technology to warn users if they’ve been in close contact with someone who subsequently tested positive for Covid-19 for an extended period of time.

If a person tests positive for the virus initially, they will be contacted by phone in the usual way.

The contact tracker asks them if they are users of the app and if they are ready to use the app’s download feature to anonymously notify nearby contacts.

If you accept this, a unique code will be sent to your mobile phone to activate this function in the app.When you share your positive test result this way, the information becomes part of an anonymous database.

The app on other users’ phones regularly checks this database to see if they have come into contact with an infected person.A warning is automatically issued when a match is found and users are prompted to self-isolate for 14 days.

How does the app work?
How does the app work?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here